Mnemovore

Dvorak keyboard layout

with 4 comments

Being messing with dvorak keyboard layout for a while. For some reason it seems logical to use it and its very comforting and forgiving to my wrists and especially my right hand ring finger which hurts me a lot the past 2 months. Below there are some interesting links that got me rolling.

http://www.dvzine.org

http://learn.dvorak.nl

http://freshmeat.net/projects/dvorakng/

and of course %setxkbmap dvorak

I found out that the best practice is to bind a pic in a key combo and use it when you need it. (e.g. in stumpwm i’ve  added (define-key *root-map* (kbd "M-a") "exec qiv ~/Images/dvorak.gif") and when i forget a letter i just refresh my memory using the pic of the layout.)

Written by aperturefever

June 16, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Posted in Linux

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You should take a look at the colemak kb layout: http://www.colemak.com/

    rtra

    July 12, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    • Thanks, looks interesting, although im pleased with dvorak for now.

      aperturefever

      July 14, 2010 at 3:28 pm

  2. I second the colemak layout. I learned Dvorak some years ago only to realize that it didn’t feel that better, that writing QWERTY was impossible afterwards, and that it made my right pinky hurt.

    Then I decided to give colemak a try and it was all I wanted: most words are on the home row, the difference to qwerty is small, so I don’t get blocked anymore when using QWERTY -which made me feel like an idiot when in front of others-, and it was amazingly fast to learn (in comparison to dvorak, it did take some good weeks of effort though).

    gicxjo

    April 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    • I keep listening this one. I’ll give it a try because its getting a bit bothersome having to switch layouts all the time, since i’m usually on the move. After almost a year i haven’t still mastered the dvorak layout since i dont get the desired wpm, but the pain is gone.

      Thanks for the feedback, i’ll give it a try, this weekend.

      dore

      April 28, 2011 at 10:44 pm


Leave a Reply

